This site is games | books | films

 Jason X
(2001) on IMDb

Jason X (2001)

This Halloween, meet the perfect 10 in terror!

Jason X is a 2001 American science fiction slasher film directed by Jim Isaac, written by Todd Farmer and starring Lexa DoigLisa RyderChuck Campbell, and Kane Hodder in his fourth and final cinematic appearance as Jason Voorhees. It is the tenth installment in the Friday the 13th franchise, the first one since 1993’s Jason Goes to Hell: The Final Friday. In the film, Jason is cryogenically frozen for 445 years and awakens in 2455, after being found by a group of students, whom he subsequently stalks and kills one by one.

While other films of the franchise approach Jason as a human serial killer or undead monster, this movie views him through a science-fiction lens (referring to his inability to die as a “regenerative” power that can be studied and perhaps replicated) and then has him transformed by future-technology into a cyborg. This cyborg incarnation has been called Jason X in tie-in media, but is also often referred to by fans as “Uber Jason”, a nickname the art design team and production crew used and which appeared in later comic books Jason X Special and Friday the 13th: Jason vs. Jason X.

When conceiving the film, Todd Farmer came up with the idea of sending Jason into space, suggesting to the studio that it was the only direction left for the series. Kane Hodder called into the Howard Stern Show on May 1, 2002 and shared “I was a little hesitant about (the plot) the first time I heard the story too.”

 Jason X was theatrically released in the U.S. on April 26, 2002 to mostly negative reviews from critics, and grossed $17 million on a budget of $11–14 million. The next film in the series, Freddy vs. Jason, was released in 2003; it is a crossover with the A Nightmare on Elm Street franchise, set between the events of The Final Friday and Jason X.

By, Fair use, Jason X
By, Fair use,
Scroll to Top