This site is games | books | films

Justice League

By Jason Fabok and Alex Sinclair / DC Comics - [1], Fair use,, Justice League
By Jason Fabok and Alex Sinclair / DC Comics – [1], Fair use,

The Justice League is a team of fictional superheroes appearing in American comic books published by DC Comics. The team was conceived by writer Gardner Fox during the Silver Age of Comic Books as a reimagining of the Golden Age‘s Justice Society of America. Originally consisting of SupermanBatmanWonder WomanThe FlashGreen LanternAquaman and Martian Manhunter, they first appeared together as the Justice League of America (JLA) in The Brave and the Bold #28 (March 1960).

The Justice League’s roster has rotated throughout the years, consisting of various superheroes from the DC Universe, such as The Atom (Ray Palmer)Big Barda (Barda Free)Black Canary (Dinah Laurel Lance)Black Lightning (Jefferson Pierce)Blue Beetle (Jaime Reyes)Booster GoldCaptain Marvel/Shazam (Billy Batson)Cyborg (Victor Stone)Elongated Man (Ralph Dibny)The Flash (Wally West)FirestormGreen Arrow (Oliver Queen)Green Lantern (John Stewart)Hawkgirl (Kendra Saunders)Hawkman (Carter Hall)Metamorpho (Rex Mason)Naomi McDuffieOrionPlastic Man (Eel O’Brian)Supergirl (Kara Zor-El)Power Girl (Kara Zor-L)Red TornadoStargirl (Courtney Whitmore), and Zatanna. In the continuity of DC’s 2011 relaunch of all of this monthly titles, The New 52 reboot, Cyborg replaced Martian Manhunter as one of the seven founding members.

The team received its own comic book title called Justice League of America in November 1960. With The New 52 in 2011, DC Comics released the second volume of Justice League. In July 2016, the DC Rebirth initiative again relaunched DC’s entire line of monthly books, including the Justice League titles, with the third volume of Justice League. Since its inception, the team has been featured in various films, television programs, and video games.

Other Characters

Scroll to Top