This site is games | books | films

Nightmare on Elms Street (franchise) (1984 – 2010)

By, Fair use,
By, Fair use,

One, Two Freddy’s coming for you,
Three, Four, better lock your door,
Five, Six, grab your crucifix,
Seven, Eight, gonna stay up late,
Nine, Ten never sleep again. – Nightmare on Elms Street –

Nightmare on Elms Street
Cover of New Line Cinema’s A Nightmare on Elm Street box set

A Nightmare on Elm Street is an American horror franchise that consists of nine slasher films, a television series, novels, and comic books. The franchise began with the film A Nightmare on Elm Street (1984) created by Wes Craven. The franchise revolves around the fictional character Freddy Krueger, a former child killer who after being burned alive by the vengeful parents of his victims, returns from the grave to terrorize and kill the teenage residents of Springwood, Ohio in their dreams.

The original film was written and directed by Craven, who returned to co-script the second sequel, A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream Warriors (1987), and to write and direct New Nightmare(1994). The films collectively grossed over $457 million at the box-office worldwide.

The original film was released in 1984. A series of sequels produced by the independent film company New Line Cinema followed. New Line often attributes the growth of their company to the success of the Nightmare franchise. The film series as a whole has received mixed reviews by critics, but has been a financial success at the box office. When comparing the United States box office grosses of other American horror film series, A Nightmare on Elm Street is the second highest grossing franchise in adjusted US dollars. 

In 1988, a television series was produced with Freddy as the host. The pilot episode focused on the night Freddy was burned alive by the angry parents of the children he had killed, though the rest of the series featured episodes with independent plots. Twelve novels, separate from the adaptations of the films, and multiple comic book series were published featuring Freddy Krueger, as well as a crossover film featuring fellow horror icon Jason Voorhees from the Friday the 13th franchise.remake of the 1984 film was released in 2010, and a second remake is currently being planned.


FilmU.S. release dateDirected byScreenwriter(s)Story byProduced by
A Nightmare on Elm StreetNovember 9, 1984Wes CravenWes CravenRobert Shaye
A Nightmare on Elm Street 2: Freddy’s RevengeNovember 1, 1985Jack SholderDavid Chaskin
A Nightmare on Elm Street 3: Dream WarriorsFebruary 27, 1987Chuck RussellWes Craven & Bruce Wagner and Chuck Russell & Frank DarabontWes Craven & Bruce Wagner
A Nightmare on Elm Street 4: The Dream MasterAugust 19, 1988Renny HarlinBrian Helgeland and Ken and Jim WheatWilliam Kotzwinkle and Brian HelgelandRobert Shaye and Rachel Talalay
A Nightmare on Elm Street 5: The Dream ChildAugust 11, 1989Stephen HopkinsLeslie BohemJohn Skipp & Craig Spector and Leslie BohemRobert Shaye and Rupert Harvey
Freddy’s Dead: The Final NightmareSeptember 13, 1991Rachel TalalayMichael De LucaRachel TalalayRobert Shaye and Aron Warner
Wes Craven’s New NightmareOctober 14, 1994Wes CravenWes CravenMarianne Maddalena
Freddy vs. JasonAugust 15, 2003Ronny YuDamian Shannon & Mark SwiftSean S. Cunningham
A Nightmare on Elm StreetApril 30, 2010Samuel BayerWesley Strick and Eric HeissererWesley StrickMichael BayAndrew Form and Brad Fuller
Scroll to Top