This site is games | books | films

Texas Chainsaw Massacre (Franchise) (1974–present)

Before Halloween…. Before Friday The 13th…. Before Scream…. There Was The Saw.

Texas Chainsaw Massacre

The Texas Chainsaw Massacre is an American horror franchise consisting of eight horror filmscomics and a video game adaptation of the original film. The franchise focuses on serial killer Leatherface and his psychotic family, who terrorize unsuspecting visitors to their territories in the desolate Texas countryside, typically killing and cannibalizing them. The original film was released in 1974, directed by Tobe Hooper and written by Hooper and Kim Henkel. Hooper and Henkel were involved in only three of the later films.

The film series has grossed over $235 million at the worldwide box office.

FilmU.S. release dateDirector(s)Screenwriter(s)Producer(s)
The Texas Chain Saw MassacreOctober 11, 1974Tobe HooperKim Henkel and Tobe HooperTobe Hooper
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre 2August 22, 1986L.M. Kit CarsonMenahem Golan and Yoram Globus
Leatherface: The Texas Chainsaw Massacre IIIJanuary 12, 1990Jeff BurrDavid SchowRobert Engelman
Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The Next GenerationMarch 12, 1995Kim HenkelRobert Kuhn and Kim Henkel
The Texas Chainsaw MassacreOctober 17, 2003Marcus NispelScott KosarMichael Bay and Mike Fleiss
The Texas Chainsaw Massacre: The BeginningOctober 6, 2006Jonathan LiebesmanSheldon TurnerMichael Bay,
Mike Fleiss, Kim Henkel, Tobe Hooper, Brad Fuller, and Andrew Form
Texas Chainsaw 3DJanuary 4, 2013John LuessenhopAdam Marcus & Debra Sullivan and Kristen EllisCarl Mazzocone
LeatherfaceOctober 20, 2017Julien Maury and Alexandre BustilloSeth M. SherwoodChrista CampbellLati Grobman, Carl Mazzocone, and Les Weldon
Texas Chainsaw MassacreFebruary 18, 2022[1]David Blue GarciaChris Thomas DevlinFede Álvarez, Herbert W. Gains, Kim Henkel, Ian Henkel, and Pat Cassidy
Scroll to Top