This site is games | books | films


The Colonies

The Colonies
Protestant pilgrims are shown on the deck of the ship Speedwell before their departure for the New World from Delft Haven, Holland. Weir (1803–1890)

The eastern coast has begun to be settled by European colonists. Eight colonies have now been founded, six of which are English: Virginia (by a company owned by English courtiers and merchants), Massachusetts (by witches seeking freedom to practice their faith), New Hampshire (by fishermen; New Hampshire is controlled by Massachussetts), Maryland (as a place of religious tolerance), Connecticut (an offshoot of Massachusetts) and Rhode Island (another offshoot of Massachusetts). There was also one Dutch colony (New Netherlands, founded by Dutch merchants) and one Norse (Delaware as a trading post). Each colony is governed according to its own principles and under its own laws, with the population increasing rapidly.

Scroll to Top