This site is games | books | films

Papal States (State of the Church)

Papal States

The Papal States, also known as the State of the Church, is a country located in central Italy. Its capital city, Rome, is home to a diverse population primarily made up of Italian-speaking Catholics.

  • Coat of Arms/Flag Status: The Coat of Arms of the Papal States is the Papal Tiara, a three-tiered crown with a key and a cross above it.
  • Capital City: Rome
  • Other Settlements: Vatican City, Castel Gandolfo, Avignon
  • Languages: Italian, Latin
  • Religion(s): Catholicism
  • Government: Theocracy, led by the Pope
  • Legislature: College of Cardinals
  • Current Ruler: Pope Alexander VI
  • Other Notable residents: Cardinals, bishops, and other high-ranking officials of the Catholic Church.

The government is led by the Pope, who serves as both the head of state and the head of government. The legislature is made up of cardinals appointed by the Pope.

Currently, the Pope is Pope Alexander VI, considered one of the most controversial of the Renaissance popes. He acknowledged fathering several children by his mistresses, and as a result, his Italianized Valencian surname, Borgia, became synonymous with libertinism and nepotism, which are considered as the hallmarks of his pontificate.

The Papal States are steeped in rich history and culture, and are known for their strong religious influence. Visitors can explore iconic landmarks such as the Vatican City, St. Peter’s Basilica, and the Sistine Chapel. However, the state also has a reputation for being insular and exclusive, with a rigid social hierarchy and limited opportunities for upward mobility. Despite this, the Papal States remain a fascinating destination for history and culture enthusiasts.

Scroll to Top