This site is games | books | films

Duchy of Saxe-Lauenburg (State of the Holy Roman Empire)

Duchy of Saxe-Lauenburg
  • Coat of arms
  • Status – State of the Holy Roman Empire
  • Capital City- Lauenburg
  • Other Settlements –
  • Languages –
  • Religion(s) –
  • Government – Principality
  • Legislature –
  • Current Ruler – Duke Magnus III
  • Other Notable residents –

The government is a monarchy, ruled by Duke Magnus III who is the descendant of the duchy’s founding family. The legislature is made up of nobles, who hold the majority of power, and representatives from the cities who are appointed by the Duke. The population is around 50,000 and mostly German-speaking, with a significant minority of Danish speakers in the northern regions.

There are several places of interest in Saxe-Lauenburg, such as the Ratzeburg Cathedral, a Gothic masterpiece, the Lauenburg Lakes, a popular destination for fishing and boating, and the Castle of Lauenburg, a fortress that sits on the banks of the Elbe River.

The current ruler is Duke Magnus III, who is known for his military prowess and political acumen. He is also the local ruler of the Duchy. Count Hermann von Bülow, a powerful nobleman and a close advisor of the Duke, is also a notable resident of the duchy. Other notable residents include the philosopher Johann von Soest and the poet Heinrich von der Tann.

In the folklore of Saxe-Lauenburg, there is a creature known as the “Nachzehrer” which is an undead monster that is said to feed on the corpses of the recently deceased. The creature is also known to cause plagues and sickness. The locals believe that if one is unfortunate enough to come across this creature, they should run away as fast as they can or they will be the next one to be devoured.

Scroll to Top