This site is games | books | films

 Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief
(2010) on IMDb

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief

Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief (also known as Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief) is a 2010 action fantasy film directed by Chris Columbus. The film is the first installment in the Percy Jackson film series and is based on the 2005 novel The Lightning Thief, the first novel in the Percy Jackson & the Olympians series by Rick Riordan. It stars Logan Lerman as Percy Jackson alongside an ensemble cast that includes Brandon T. JacksonAlexandra DaddarioJake AbelRosario DawsonSteve CooganUma ThurmanCatherine KeenerJoe PantolianoKevin McKiddSean BeanDylan Neal and Pierce Brosnan. The movie was released to theaters on February 12, 2010 in the United States by 20th Century Fox.

The film cost $95 million to make. It received mixed reviews from critics and a largely negative response from fans, with criticism for the unfaithfulness to its source material and its script, but praise for Lerman’s performance and the action sequences. Despite the response, the film grossed $226.4 million worldwide. The film was released on June 29, 2010 on DVD and Blu-ray. A video game based on the film developed by Activision was released for Nintendo DS on February 11, 2010. A sequel, Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters, was released on August 7, 2013.

A youth, standing in a large body of water in the dark, holds a bolt of lightning in his raised right arm and faces away, towards a city skyline, The Lightning Thief
Theatrical release poster


Scroll to Top