This site is games | books | films

 The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies
(2014) on IMDb

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies (2014)

The Hobbit: The Battle of the Five Armies is a 2014 epic high fantasy film directed by Peter Jackson and written by Jackson, Fran WalshPhilippa Boyens, and Guillermo del Toro. It is the third and final installment in Peter Jackson’s three-part film adaptation based on the novel The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien, following An Unexpected Journey (2012) and The Desolation of Smaug (2013), and together they act as a prequel to Jackson’s The Lord of the Rings film trilogy.

It was produced by New Line CinemaMetro-Goldwyn-Mayer and WingNut Films, and distributed by Warner Bros. Pictures. The Battle of the Five Armies was released on 11 December 2014 in New Zealand, 12 December 2014 in the United Kingdom, and on 17 December 2014 in the United States. It stars Martin FreemanIan McKellenRichard ArmitageEvangeline LillyLuke EvansLee PaceBenedict CumberbatchKen Stott, and James Nesbitt. The ensemble cast also features Cate BlanchettIan HolmChristopher LeeHugo Weaving, and Orlando Bloom. The film was the final film featuring Christopher Lee that was released in his lifetime and was his final onscreen appearance.

The film received mixed reviews, and grossed over $956 million worldwide, making it the second highest-grossing film of 2014 (behind Transformers: Age of Extinction). At the 87th Academy Awards, the film received a nomination for Best Sound Editing.

The Battle of the Five Armies
Theatrical release poster
Scroll to Top