This site is games | books | films

 Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters
(2013) on IMDb

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (2013)

Percy Jackson: Sea of Monsters (also known as Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Sea of Monsters) is a 2013 American fantasy adventure film directed by Thor Freudenthal. It is the second installment in the Percy Jackson film series and is based on the 2006 novel The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan. It is a sequel to the 2010 film Percy Jackson & the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.

The film continues the adventures of Percy Jackson (Logan Lerman) and his friends, as they search for the Golden Fleece at the Sea of MonstersBrandon T. JacksonAlexandra Daddario, and Jake Abel reprise their roles from the previous film, while Nathan Fillion and Anthony Head replace Dylan Neal and Pierce Brosnan. New additions to the cast include Leven RambinDouglas Smith, and Stanley Tucci. The film was produced by Karen Rosenfelt and Michael BarnathanChris Columbus, who directed the first film, serves as executive producer. The plot centers on Percy and his friends as they journey to the eponymous Sea of Monsters to retrieve the Golden Fleece in order to save the tree (barrier) that protects their home.

The film was released in North America on August 7, 2013. It received mixed critical reviews, with praise for the visuals, action sequences, and Lerman’s performance, but criticized its script, unfaithfulness to its source material, and ending. It also grossed $199.8 million at the box office worldwide. The film was released on Blu-ray 3DBlu-ray, and DVD on December 17, 2013. A planned sequel Titan’s Curse, was never produced.




Other characters

Percy Jackson Sea poster 1
Theatrical release poster
Scroll to Top