This site is games | books | films


Queen of the Damned (2002)

Queen of the Damned is a 2002 horror film directed by Michael Rymer, loosely based on the third novel of Anne Rice‘s The Vampire Chronicles series, The Queen of the Damned (1988), although the film contains many plot elements from the novel’s predecessor The Vampire Lestat. It stars Aaliyah in the title role as the vampire queen Akasha and Stuart Townsend as the vampire Lestat.

This is Aaliyah’s final film completed before her death on August 25, 2001. The film was released on February 22, 2002, in the United States and on April 4, 2002, in Australia. It received generally negative reviews from critics but was a moderate box office success.

Theatrical release poster, Queen of the Damned
Theatrical release poster
Scroll to Top